And this continues until you hit the restore button.The data loss is because Cydia moves your files around to free up space. If you disabled backup in i Tunes then you can still backup by right clicking on the device under “Devices” on the left and selecting “backup”. If you are upgrading to the latest version of firmware you can just let it download and restore. If you would rather download the firmware manually, you can get all firmwares here.If you are already on i OS 11.1.2, you are all set and there’s nothing you should worry about now.
The moved files become inaccessible but stay on your disk which means you essentially just lose the space. Here are the steps that you should take on a 2.0 device to upgrade without any loss or issues: Sync with i Tunes. It may take you a while on 2.0 – 2.0.2 but you need this step. At this point, if you are a contract subscriber (AT&T or such) you need to activate your device in i Tunes.
The more apps you had installed in Cydia, the more space you lose. Just hook it up and wait, it should auto activate allowing you to slide to unlock to icons. Do not restore your backup, do not set up as a new phone, just remove the device. If aptbackup is now hidden (missing icon) after your i Tunes restore, load Boss Prefs, go to hidden icons, and unhide it. If you had a bunch of category folders and moved most things into it, the i Tunes backup will have made these icons disappear. For any help not listed here refer to my other post describing the issue in greater detail.
The restore process will simply fail, no matter what.
This essentially means you won’t ever be able to update to this version, except if you didn’t do so already.
Is there a way I can un-jailbreak my phone, without having to update the software? The success of jaibreaking is to only do it on a device that doesnt receive updates often since updating erases the jailbreak.
If you are confident that the update that you wish to go to has a jailbreak (the most recent version of i OS as of the day you choose to update), then you should be ok to jailbreak it back again.SEP compatibility is an integral part of the future restore process.Therefore, users who have saved SHSH Blobs for i OS 11.1.2 or below, won’t be able to upgrade.If you upgrade from 2.0 to 2.0.1 using upgrade button, you lose 500mb.If you then upgrade from 2.0.1 to 2.0.2, you lose *another* 500mb.These shenanigans can prove costly at the end and force you to upgrade your device to i OS 11.2.1.